SAFERhome Society Board Members

Executive Director: Stan Leyenhorst
Director:  Patrick Simpson (Past Executive Director)
Director:  Ian D. Robertson
Treasurer:  Danny Ho

Executive Director, Stan Leyenhorst
Stan is a lifelong resident in the lower mainland of Vancouver.  He has a extensive background in sales and marketing in the construction and building products industries. Over the past several years he has furthered his studies in universal design and accessibility. Stan worked as an Inclusive Design Specialist with the Rick Hansen Foundation before founding his own consultancy, Universal Access Design Inc. He is passionate about the need for adaptable housing interventions and universal design to make our homes safer for everyone.

Patrick Simpson, Director
Patrick Simpson is an early adopter in smart concept housing and Universal Design. Patrick currently works as a consultant with Canadian Barrier Free Design as a Universal design and building specialist. He has been involved in the housing industry for more than 25 years through real estate and development, including market research, land assembly, project management, and design. Now semi retired Patrick has sat on many boards and committees in the Vancouver area and continues to volunteer with his community.

Ian D. Robertson, Director
Ian D. Robertson: A lawyer with experience in both the construction and technology industries, Ian Robertson has been instrumental in contributing both legal counsel and technological knowledge to the SAFERhome design standards. A founding partner in Vancouver law firm Robertson & Company, he is also a principal in Norstar Properties, a Vancouver-based construction management and design-build development company.
Since 1995, Ian has been President & CEO of NS Telcom Group Inc., a private investment firm specializing in the communications and technology sector. He is also President of its various US and Canadian subsidiaries, including Norstar Multimedia (DIVA Systems), NST Network Services Inc. Novus Communications Inc., and Ranger Online Inc.

Danny Ho, Treasurer
Danny has directed and lead ancillary business and service units to successfully support the University of British Columbia academic mission and official community plan with a strong focus on customer service delivery. Units comprised of Parking Services, Access Control, University Card, Secure Access, and Campus Mailing Services. Innovative and analytical, he now prioritizes his time on business analytics.